Chapter 5: Chasing Your Dreams.

To be completely honest with you, I don’t know how to start this post. I just know it’s definitely something I want to talk about. It’s something I struggle with at times because although I preach a lot to people about doing whatever makes them happy and doing what they want to do with their lives. It’s hard to put into practice. So here is a reminder to myself and to you.

For a very long time now I’ve been convinced that I want to do something in media, that involved my craft. When I used to think about myself, career wise, 10/15 years from now, I pictured having my own art gallery, with my photography. Maybe have a couple of short movies out and if I’m really dreaming big then something like an art exhibition. I wanted to travel the world, document it and share it. The end goal for me was to spread positivity, help people believe in love again, motivate them to achieve better and bigger things and to appreciate the beauty of all the things that surround us. Because those are the things I’m passionate about, it’s what I love doing. Even if I have to stay up, or wait out in the cold, or spend hours reflecting, it doesn’t matter. Because I love it. It just doesn’t feel like work.

Then recently I spent over 8 weeks at the pediatrics ward in Zambia. I fell in love with the job. I was supposed to do 2 weeks, but I just kept going, I even had to renew my visa multiple times. I love kids and without sounding cocky I’m really good with kids (I’m just terrified of having my own). There’s something about walking in there every morning, putting on the scrubs and suddenly just forgetting everything else. Nothing else in your life matters but the kids. They are so happy and trusting and most of the time so completely unaware of how sick they are. It’s heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. It just made me want to come back to London, get a degree that will allow me to do this every day, and work my ass off till it’s done.

I found myself at a cross road, because I have no idea what to pick. So I told my mum, there’s so much I want to do and so little time. Then she just looked at me and said ‘do both, what are you complaining about’.

So I took my art more seriously. Instead of taking pictures of random things when I felt like it. I decided to make it a habit, to go out and find locations. To write more, speak up more, do more. Funny enough, (if you follow me on instagram you know), a few days ago I signed my first model and property release for a couple of pictures. It means I get to make money, sell my work and get more people to see it. It made me so incredibly happy and proud. A few months ago, I would have never thought it would be possible yet here I am.

For now I’ll focus myself on that and in a few months time I’ll be back at uni. I’ll do both for as long as I can, then when I need to make a call. I’ll make the call.

The point is, don’t let anybody stop you from dreaming big and doing what you want to do. If you aren’t sure, do both, do as much as you can for as long as you can. We are literally on a giant rock floating in space. That’s the most unreal thing to wrap your head around. Your dream compared to that, is pretty damn realistic. If your concern is money then let me tell you this, the way you make your money is way more important than how much money you make. If you love what you’re doing you’re bound to achieve success.

You’ve already spent hours and hours in class, especially in lessons you hated, looking at that clock wishing you could be somewhere else. Do you really want to waste the rest of your life, wishing you were somewhere else, doing something else, with somebody else? No.

This applies to everything. If you want something, you’ve got to be ready to put up a fight. You’ve got to be willing to work for it. Stop hiding behind your fears and insecurities. You can achieve anything you want. Anything.

Be ready to fail, because failure is inevitable. But that shouldn’t mean you stop trying. If anything let it encourage you to try harder. Let it motivate you to push your limits and to work harder.

So to conclude, this post wasn’t just to convince you to ‘Follow your dreams’. It’s to get you to actively & physically, chase after what you love and what you dream off. It means you’re not letting anything or anyone stop you from getting to where you want to be. You need to pour all you’ve got into it and believe. If you aren’t willing to get past the hurdles then you don’t want it bad enough to deserve it. This is also a reminder to myself. One of the most motivating things I’ve ever heard is ‘Work until your idols become your rivals’ . Go get it & don’t stop till you have the life you’ve always dreamed of.

Sincerely yours,

Nathalie

P.S: I’m sorry last week didn’t have any photography Tuesday however I’ll make that up to you. This Tuesday (26th) I’m seeing Rhodes, on the 4th of May there’s Lewis Watson and on the 16th I’ll be seeing Broods. So that’s lots and lots of concert photography coming up, alongside some other super cool projects. If you are going to be at any of these shows (I already know some of you are) then come say hola!

Leave a comment