Chapter 0: Introduction

My main resolution this year was to be more vocal about my thoughts and opinions which also includes being more opened about my feelings.

I grew up traveling a lot, so home wasn’t a concept I grasped till much later. I spent a lot of time in my own world. You see, having to continuously change country and make new friends does get tiring. Don’t get me wrong I did have friends but I often felt like I didn’t fit in. Not so much like a square peg in a round hole. More like a round peg in a square hole .. it would fit it just didn’t always feel right.

I spent a lot of my time wondering what people would think and say about me. Which didn’t really help me express myself the way I would have wanted to. Instead, I would try fit a mold which made me somebody I wasn’t and I often felt like I’d lose myself in doing so. Until I realised that what people think didn’t and shouldn’t matter. It has taken me over a decade to embrace that, to embrace me.

I am not the best artist, hell, people wouldn’t even say I’m an artist. I mainly just draw stick figures or doodle weird things, can barely play an entire song on the piano, my voice cracks when I sing Adele (Because I’m most definitely not Adele), my pictures are often blurry or out of focus and I always edit them too dark and it takes me weeks to scribble out a tiny poem.

Yet here I am calling myself an artist.

Because as Steve Jobs once said ‘The ones who are crazy enough to believe that they can change the world are the ones that do.’ I hope you join me on this journey while I discover and embrace all the things that surround us and make us human. If you’re lost, I hope you find yourself.

My name is Nathalie and I am an artist. Because artists tell stories and I have stories to tell.

Welcome.

Leave a comment